Author Topic: Frequently Asked Questions (READ FIRST BEFORE POSTING KTHX)  (Read 28464 times)

Offline Jared

  • Administrator
  • Quite Some Free Time
  • *
  • Posts: 2495
Frequently Asked Questions (READ FIRST BEFORE POSTING KTHX)
« on: March 04, 2006, 10:32:30 PM »
First off, the existing FAQ can be found here.[/url]

Second, if you've got a question about gameplay, please READ THE MANUAL before you ask it - chances are, your question is answered there already.  ;)


That being said, here we go with some more questions!


Q: Can I play this game online?

A: Not yet, although this is the number one request as of now.  If you can actually help with getting netplay off the ground, by all means, let us know!


Q: I can't play the game because my computer says some important file is missing.

A: The file you need can be found here.  Copy the name of the file into their search box and you should get what you need.


Q: When I press Up and Left together the game doesn't recognize both of them! Or sometimes it's with some other keys... like when I'm playing with three people on a keyboard sometimes someone can't jump or something.

A: This is unfortunately a keyboard problem and isn't something that we can fix. You basically have three options:

1) You can use joysticks instead. This is probably your best option overall, because that way you don't have to crowd so many people around the keyboard.
2) You can use one of those very expensive keyboards that are designed for video games and that allow you to have a lot more keys pressed at once. But, like I said, they're expensive, plus there's still no guarantee that your problem will be fixed.
3) You can try remapping the keys until you find a pattern that works. (Good effin' luck.)


Q:  I have this great idea for a new mode/item/whatever!  Where should I post it?

A:  We are not currently accepting suggestions.  This is because there have already been so many made that we need to go through the list and decide what kind of direction we want the game to take in the future.


Q:  I can't get certain map elements to work right!

A:  Make sure you're selecting them from the interactive block menu rather than the tile selection menu -- press I to access it.  This gives you access to:

Bricks that can actually be smashed
Item boxes that actually generate items
Donut lifts that actually fall if you stand on them too long
Flip blocks that actually spin
Bounce blocks that actually bounce when you hit them from underneath
Note blocks that actually behave like they should
Blue blocks that actually allow you to pick them up
Switches and switch blocks that actually work


Q: How can I make it so that you can swim in water or climb vines?

A: You can't.  At least, not yet.


Q: How do I make a moving platform in the level editor?

A: Press P.  (There is a list of instructions in the editor itself - press F1 to access it.)


Q: How in the name of Samuele Poletto do I make a skin?

A: See this thread for info.


Q: I have a skin I want to use but I can't get it to work.  Help?

A: It needs to be a bitmap (.bmp) file.  Also, it needs to be exactly 192 pixels wide and 32 pixels tall, and it must be saved in 24-bit color depth.


Q: I found a bug in the latest version.  Where should I report it?

A: Just simply check the stickies for the most recent version's bug report topic in the Super Mario War board!


Q: When will you guys start working on the next version?

A: Depends on when we feel like it.


Q:  You guys ran some polls for 1.7 to see what kind of things people wanted to see added to the game - are you going to be doing the same thing for the next version?

A:  Most likely.  But not for a while yet.


Q: What did you guys make this game with?

A: The game is coded in C++.  Sorry, GM junkies.


Q: Will the next version have netplay?

A: We're not sure yet.


Q: What will it have, then?

A: We're not sure yet.  We'll think about what to add when we start work on it.  Calm down and play with what you've got.  ;)


Q: Do you guys have an IRC channel?

A: Yes - #supermariowar on irc.freenode.net


Q: Whatever happened to SMWStuff?

A: The original owner lost their hosting and the will to continue the project further. The source code is now under another person's jurisdiction but when it'll ever come back up is anyone else's guess.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2007, 09:04:58 PM by Jared »

Offline Gabrielkat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2006, 10:45:56 AM »
How come most of the sound effects in this game are the NES sound effects (and not the SNES sound effects)??  :?   :shock:
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Gabrielkat »

Offline Jared

  • Administrator
  • Quite Some Free Time
  • *
  • Posts: 2495
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2006, 06:14:30 PM »
Quote from: "Gabrielkat"
How come most of the sound effects in this game are the NES sound effects (and not the SNES sound effects)??  :?   :shock:


How much difference is there in the first place?
« Last Edit: January 11, 2007, 10:03:59 AM by Jared »

Offline Gabrielkat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2006, 02:34:47 PM »
Quote from: "Jared"
How much difference is there in the first place?


Well, the NES sound effects seem to be taken from the NES versions of Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario Bros., whereas the SNES sound effects seem to be taken from Super Mario World. How about using the SNES sound effects for Super Mario War in either 1.8 or the final version of 1.7 (or maybe both)?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Gabrielkat »

Offline SMW Fan

  • Global Moderator
  • More Common Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1044
    • http://smwfs.webs.com/
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2006, 03:08:03 PM »
Quote from: "Gabrielkat"
Quote from: "Jared"
How much difference is there in the first place?

Well, the NES sound effects seem to be taken from the NES versions of Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario Bros., whereas the SNES sound effects seem to be taken from Super Mario World. How about using the SNES sound effects for Super Mario War in either 1.8 or the final version of 1.7 (or maybe both)?

Or, you can use a SNES SFX pack. :wink:
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by SMW Fan »

Offline Jared

  • Administrator
  • Quite Some Free Time
  • *
  • Posts: 2495
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2006, 07:29:38 PM »
Quote from: "Gabrielkat"
Quote from: "Jared"
How much difference is there in the first place?

Well, the NES sound effects seem to be taken from the NES versions of Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario Bros., whereas the SNES sound effects seem to be taken from Super Mario World. How about using the SNES sound effects for Super Mario War in either 1.8 or the final version of 1.7 (or maybe both)?


I'll need to go back and check, but IIRC the sounds from both versions are pretty much the same.  Could you start a new topic about this, and post some samples so that we can hear the difference?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Jared »

Offline SMW Fan

  • Global Moderator
  • More Common Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1044
    • http://smwfs.webs.com/
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2006, 07:59:32 PM »
Quote from: "Jared"
Quote from: "Gabrielkat"
Quote from: "Jared"
How much difference is there in the first place?

Well, the NES sound effects seem to be taken from the NES versions of Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario Bros., whereas the SNES sound effects seem to be taken from Super Mario World. How about using the SNES sound effects for Super Mario War in either 1.8 or the final version of 1.7 (or maybe both)?

I'll need to go back and check, but IIRC the sounds from both versions are pretty much the same.  Could you start a new topic about this, and post some samples so that we can hear the difference?

They sound different. :lol:
I used SNES sounds in CMW if you want to see then in a SFX pack. :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by SMW Fan »

Offline Jared

  • Administrator
  • Quite Some Free Time
  • *
  • Posts: 2495
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2007, 04:52:52 PM »
>_>
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Jared »

Offline Onijustin

  • Almost Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2007, 01:28:39 PM »
i was working on a mod,and now i cant use the level editor.
is it possible that changing gfx makes that happen?

::edit::
mistake: never rename the clasic folder,else lvl editor is doing freaky.
sorry for posting this 'minor error'. :?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Onijustin »

Offline Jared

  • Administrator
  • Quite Some Free Time
  • *
  • Posts: 2495
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2007, 09:04:23 PM »
Update with new question.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Jared »

Offline Anonymous

  • On the Bright Side: You came close to your record for damage healed as Medic
  • *
  • Posts: 3712
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2007, 06:20:09 PM »
There was a thing were things screw up when you rename the classic folder, does the tileset disappear when yo delete 0smw? I deleted maps only and the interactive tiles are there but everything else is gone, but the tileset files are there. Please help.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Offline Two52

  • Administrator
  • Posts Very Often
  • *
  • Posts: 1890
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2007, 07:39:42 PM »
The classic folder and 0smw are required files.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Two52 »

Offline Luigi

  • Almost Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2007, 11:04:57 AM »
LOL! I don't have 0smw and I edited ALL CLASSIC folder (I'm making mod) and... It works. Somebody told me that Classic can't be edited. If it will be, the game won't work... This somebody isn't right
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Luigi »

Offline Two52

  • Administrator
  • Posts Very Often
  • *
  • Posts: 1890
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2007, 01:22:47 PM »
You can edit the contents of the classic folder no problem, but you need to keep it named "Classic".  And deleting the 0smw file isn't a good idea because that is hard coded in some places, so no guarentees on stability.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Two52 »

Offline Luigi

  • Almost Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2007, 12:47:02 PM »
+ Level Editor shown only tileset from classic folder, right?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Luigi »